10 Things I Want My Son To Know

Over the course of Benjamin’s life, there are so many things I want to teach him.  Some of these things will take a while, and some aren’t relevant until he gets older.  Regardless, I think these are all important for my son, Benjamin, to know in his heart.

You Are Loved
Never forget that God, your family, your Daddy and I love you very much.  No matter what happens in life, you’ll never have to fear that we won’t love you for who you are at the end of each and every day.

I’m Proud Of You
You’re going to do great things in life, and even if you don’t feel that you’ve done enough, I’ll always be proud of the person you are and I’m proud of the person you’ll become.  I wouldn’t want you to be anyone else but you. 

It’s Okay To Cry
This does not make you any less of a person or a man.  In fact, if you let it all out you’ll thank yourself for no longer bottling it all up.  If you ever need a shoulder to cry on, know that you can come to your Momma.

Be Kind
The people you meet every day could be having a pretty terrible day.  You never know the difference you can make.  Smile, make small talk, get to know the people you are around daily, make friends with strangers, and compliment people wholeheartedly.

Love Others
Just because someone looks or acts differently than you, does not mean they don’t deserve love.  It’s also important to know that sometimes the hardest people to love are those who make you angry, love them anyway and don’t harden your heart.

Ask Questions
With a Daddy like yours, I’m sure you’re going to do this.  Never be afraid to ask questions if you’re not sure, or if you’re just generally interested.  Remember, if you ask someone a question, sincerely engage in what their answer is.

Don’t Doubt Your Abilities
Your abilities were designed specifically for you by God.  Your achievements are not due to your own strength. So when you have success in something, always remember to give God the glory for it.  Always stay humble.  

It’s Okay To Fail
Failing is a part of life, and without it, you won’t appreciate your successes.  As long as you try your best, I’ll be proud of whatever you accomplish.  When you fail, always remember to get back up and try harder the next time.

You Can Always Count On Us
I never want you to feel like a subject is too hard to come to us about.  Whatever it is you’re struggling with, we’ll do our best to approach the matter with patience, kindness, and understanding.  We love you for you.

I’m Not Perfect
I’m going to mess up and get it wrong.  Please be patient with me.  I’ll always try my hardest to be a great mom, but I’m only human too.  Let’s just walk through this messy life, and face our battles together as a family of three.

 

I will always be thankful for the opportunity to be a momma to this special little boy, who will one day become an incredible young man.  I hope he never forgets that he’s loved by his family and a merciful God.  

 

 

13 thoughts on “10 Things I Want My Son To Know

  1. There are all great points for anyone at any point in this journey. I would add that the only way to fail is to not try – everything else offers a lesson and the chance for more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

