Do You (Confidently) Believe?

As I think about the current state our country is in, I can’t help but notice the fear and hatred that is quickly taking over the hearts of many Americans.  This year, I am not able to vote, and I honestly don’t know if I should consider that a blessing or not.  Although I’m not voting, I do have a voice in this election.  My voice has already been accounted for, and it will continue to be accounted for up until voting day (and after).  My voice matters in this election in this way: I have been praying continually for this nation’s future.

One thing I connect to very easily is music, and in this time all I can think of is the song “We Believe” by the Newsboys.  The lyrics really challenge me, and they should challenge you as well.  The thing is, I wonder how many people have listened to this song recently and sang the songs with an empty heart.  I wonder if you’ve ever looked at, read, or said the words of this song out loud.  I wonder if you’ve ever really understood the significance of these lyrics, and what they mean for this world.

In this time of desperation
When all we know is doubt and fear
There is only one foundation
We believe, we believe
In this broken generation
When all is dark, You help us see
There is only one salvation
We believe, we believe

If you step back and look at this nation it is not great, nor has it ever been.  Throughout history, we see over and over again the silencing of entire groups of people, the discrimination against races for the color of their skin, the divide made by people who believe they have superiority over others just because of the amount of money in their bank account.  Most of this stems from one thing: fear.  Because people are so afraid to be in the minority, they’ll do anything they can to make sure they’re in the majority.

I must say, that these thoughts have creeped into my heart as well, and I’m really not proud of that in any way.  I’m speaking to myself here when I say that this absolutely has to stop.  And if these are the thoughts in our hearts, and we think we’re saying these next lyrics truthfully than we are really fooling ourselves.  So right now, I ask you to clear your heart, and really think about what these words mean to you.

We believe in God the Father
We believe in Jesus Christ
We believe in the Holy Spirit
And He’s given us new life
We believe in the crucifixion
We believe that He conquered death
We believe in the resurrection
And He’s comin’ back again, we believe

Did you read that last line?  If you believe it’s true, your heart should be clear of all fear and hatred you have for the circumstances of this world.  Your fear of a certain candidate being elected president should completely dissolve because you know that God has the ultimate control over this nation and world.

Our God is a God of second chances.  He’s a God of mercy and love.  He is a good, good father.  He wants you to feel safe and loved in this chaos filled world, and because of that you can confidently read these next words:

So, let our faith be more than anthems
Greater than the songs we sing
And in our weakness and temptations
We believe, we believe!

Let the lost be found and the dead be raised!
In the here and now, let love invade!
Let the church live loud our God we’ll say
We believe, we believe!
And the gates of hell will not prevail!
For the power of God, has torn the veil!
Now we know Your love will never fail!
We believe, we believe!

I want to encourage you to just read that again.  Print it out.  Send it to a neighbor, family, friends, or anyone you believe needs to hear those words.  God is good, and He is still in control of this nation.  And guess what, God loves the presidential candidates. Every one of them. He died for them, just like He died for you and I.  God’s love is going to surpass all of the negative events happening in the world and I hope you trust that.

So, can you confidently tell me that you believe in God the Father, in Jesus Christ, in the Holy Spirit? Do you believe He’s comin’ back again?

I’d love to have a conversation with you regarding these thoughts.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Nick.Hanna says:

    My heart, too, is broken for this nation. I love this song, and I love how you incorporated it into this beautifully-written message that I can tell comes from your heart. I will join you in prayer for our nation this election! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. myyalia says:

    I love how you articulate your words.I can tell you are full of passion and grace. This post was great!! God bless our future and protect us for what is to come. BTW I’m with HER šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. mphadventuregirl says:

    It is quite interesting how you break down the deep meanings of this particular song. I love how you take verse by verse and explain each one

    Thank you for asking me to check out your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love that you are lifting up Christ in your blog and sharing truth! Keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a comment